Wivelsfield Green and The Cock Inn

22 Jan

The run

No run today: doctor’s or rather physio’s orders! Went to see the lovely people at Studio57 yesterday for a sports massage and general tune up and was advised not to run for 24 hours. Nothing too disastrous – just the IT band dontcha know?

So! What to do instead? Happened that a walk wouldn’t be too catastrophic so plucked a book off the bookshelf that we had had for years (and maybe used once?) and found a 4-mile pub stroll beginning and ending at The Cock Inn, Wivelsfield.

Pub Strolls in East Sussex

Parked up, changed into wellie boots (the book said it can be a muddy one) and set off following the step-by-step instructions. Much easier than following a map or app I found, though sometimes someone’s idea of bear left, or cross obliquely may differ from your own.

IMG_3695

It was indeed VERY muddy – in some cases I was paddling through rivulets of water or struggling not to lose my wellies in the mud!

Wivelsfield Green

Partly wooded and partly crossing through farmer’s fields, plenty of stiles to cross, small bridges and the odd gate to climb. The first thing I noticed was the birdsong, now maybe this is going on while I am running but I can’t say I have ever noticed it before – or is it a portender of spring?

IMG_3694

IMG_3691

Almost the first thing I did was to drop the book in the mud which will please the husband no end as he advised me to photocopy the section and take it with me in a slippery fish. Still, I think, like a cookbook covered in cooking splashes, a walking book covered in mud splashes is entirely appropriate.

Eeuuuh

Eeuuuh

Don't know about you, but when I see a sign like this I just want to...aaargh!

Don’t know about you, but when I see a sign like this I just want to…aaargh!

Met a few people en route: a working couple on a farm – very friendly and laughing about my muddy walk, another two ladies out walking, crossing the field with me – I think they were regretting not wearing their wellies, and a woman walking her beautiful golden Labrador – who still looked fairly clean at that stage – the woman says she has to rinse her down every day – that’s a commitment, eh?

jobdone

The lunch

Arrived back at the pub shortly before 12 and embarrassingly made the pub landlord open up for me! He was very nice about it and made me a coffee while he set about getting the pub up and running.

Ah, they’re all coming in with their sticks now; the grey heads of Wivelsfield Green. Made my first contactless payment – no need to put your PIN number in if the amount is less than £20. The old guy at the bar did point out that if I lost the card though, someone could use that 5 times at my expense!

Very friendly little pub, everyone seems to know everyone else and ‘missed you at the WI’ ‘did you enjoy the film last week’ etc. much talk was about the forthcoming Burn’s night which had been fully booked for the last fortnight at least and boasted a ‘haggis-stuffed tomato’ and a ‘highland fish pie’ on the menu.

I chose the smoked duck salad with new potatoes which was very nice (plenty of duck) the only drawback was the salad dressing I was given was very difficult to get out of the bottle!

IMG_3723

3 Responses to “Wivelsfield Green and The Cock Inn”

  1. morden20 January 22, 2014 at 8:49 pm #

    Liked the bit about the muddy guide book and your lunch looks delicious!

    • claredavey January 23, 2014 at 6:55 am #

      You might enjoy some of the walks in that book!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Boarshead and Laurel Fruit Farm Shop | Wednesdays in the country - February 10, 2015

    […] am well-organised for once! Spent some time yesterday looking through the pub strolls book, researching a walk to do and loading it into Outdoors GB. Having to go further afield now as I […]

Leave a Reply

