A muddy walk along the River Ouse

12 Jan

The run/walk

This is a post I had intended to publish before the Christmas chaos set in but I didn’t quite manage it! This walk was from the 15th December.

I had planned on doing a walk around the chalk pits today, but after driving past the starting point twice, and finding nowhere easy to park on the busy road, I lost heart and decided to head for Lewes, parking in Tesco car park and taking a walk along the Ouse. It is prone to muddiness, and although not actually raining today, it had rained heavily at the weekend, and so I knew I was in for a muddy one. As such I am glad I wore my wellies as I headed off along the river bank. The beginning part is nice and sociable, along the river, near the town and through the park with dog-walkers and toddlers aplenty to smile at, but once on the more rugged river path, only the hardened dog walkers are in evidence as it is indeed, cold and muddy here today.

IMG_6246

River Ouse

The clean-eating challenge is over now, and I am basking in the glory of having done better than expected, here are my starting, mid-point and finishing stats:

In summary I lost 8.5kg and 8% body fat, my muscles are popping out of my shoulders and I feel good, both health-wise and in the knowledge I have gained. Although I will doubtless go back to drinking alcohol and relax my eating regime I feel that many of the habits I have learned are sustainable long-term and I look forward to putting them into practice. (As I write this, post-Christmas, I have embarked upon the kitchen shed 30-day clean-eating challenge).

I do get stuck in the mud on my walk and struggle to get my foot out without losing my Wellington boot!

River Ouse walk

A quick coffee break is taken on the muddy bench, a peanut butter muffin defrosted from the freezer and a chance to take in the glorious sunny morning.

IMG_6222IMG_6218

The lunch

I had decided to treat myself to lunch out, rather than packing my own, this morning, but found I did not have quite enough time to go to a cafe or restaurant, I could find nothing ‘clean’ in the Costa coffee in Tescos, and desperately perused the lunch section of Tesco for something suitable, finally settling on this salad, which in no way filled me up, I should have bought a piece of cooked salmon to have on the side.

IMG_6249

Still, it got me home where I was able to construct my favourite smoothie: a variation from Bubbles and Booyah of blueberries, raspberries, banana, almond milk, vanilla protein powder, flaxseed and almond butter!

The shopping

IMG_6252

Some new foods to try (Freekeh, Food Doctor crackers) and some old favourites (walnuts, brown soba neeodles)

Leave a Reply

